Writer Marie Cooper secures second place in the Cooper Price 2024

Marie Cooper Secures Second Place in the Cooper Prize 2024

The results of the Cooper Prize 2024, hosted by the Norwich Writers’ Circle, were announced on the evening of Tuesday 2nd April 2024, revealing Marie Cooper’s accomplishment in securing second place with her entry, Borrowed Time.

What is the Cooper Prize

The Cooper Prize, is a biennial competition focused on writing short stories featuring strong male characters. The Cooper Prize alternates yearly with the Ivy Ferrari competition, which challenges writers to create works with compelling female leads.

2024 Cooper Prize Winners

This year’s Cooper Prize called for ghost stories under 2,000 words with a prominent male protagonist. The winners are:

First Place: The Factory by Jeni Lawes
Second Place: Borrowed Time by Marie Cooper
Third Place: The Eleventh Tread by Paul Taylor

Additionally, The Light at the End of the Pier penned by Michael Giddings earned the accolade of ‘Highly Commended,’ a testament to its captivating narrative.

Reflecting on her achievement, Cooper expressed surprise and gratitude for the recognition.

Find out more about Norwich Writer’s Circle

Norwich Writer’s Circle meet twice a month, on the first and third Tuesdays from September through July, at Chantry Hall in Norwich and online, respectively.

For more information or to inquire about membership, interested writers can contact the membership secretary at [email protected].

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »